Day 132 – If I have nothing else in the world, I have my family


132-234
Day 132 – Jul 27th

I don’t know where the time has gone… five whole years! Its our fifth wedding anniversary today and it seems to have gone in the blink of an eye, which I am sure must be a good thing! Not sure the wife would agree, it may seem more like a prison sentence to her! I think she still loves me though, she hasn’t suffocated me in my sleep, or poisoned my food yet!

We had decided to celebrate with lunch at our favourite carvery, a lovely little pub away from the city, called The Nailers Arms. I’ve been there a number of times before, and the staff are always friendly and helpful, whilst the food is by far the best we’ve ever had at a carvery. They were particularly accommodating and helpful when we organised a group meal there one christmas, and consequently I felt it fair to call the manager to inform him what a good job his staff are doing, as well as leave a very positive review on tripadvisor. Credit where credit is due, and all that. I am sure most places only get calls when there is a complaint or a problem, so I thought it would be a welcome change to give them a more uplifting call.

Thursday is typically a nursery day for Olivia, but as it was our wedding anniversary I wanted to be there with my family, so we swapped Olivia’s day at nursery meaning she could be there too. I wanted the four of us to be able to celebrate together, even if the girls are too young to understand, I still wanted them there. Olivia sat and ate really well, but Chloe just doesn’t seem to eat as well when we go out for some reason, so she hardly touched her food. Consequently once we got home it was snack time for the little lady. Dunkers and cream cheese is a big hit, but makes quite a mess… but thats part of the fun of eating when you’re little, isn’t it?!

With the girls finally in bed, we finished off our evening with a bottle of fizz and a film, with a dark and fairly depressing view on the world of heroin addiction, the classic Trainspotting was our choice, as a refresher ahead of watching the sequel over this coming weekend. Still a great film, with room for a few giggles, can’t wait to see the second one!

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on July 28, 2017, in 365 project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

