Day 085 – I hope I look that good when I’m your age.


085-281
Day 85 – June 10th

With my nan’s 90 birthday just a few days away we got to enjoy a rare family get together today. My uncle and aunt were hosting a family BBQ and most of the family had made it over. The weather stayed dry for the afternoon, even though it was a little windy, it at least allowed us to cook outside and watch the children playing on the lawn.

I enjoyed catching up with some of the family, although as with most families, not everyone gets along, and so there were a couple of people I wasn’t really talking to. I’ve always been a neutral character in my family, much like my uncle, as its a reasonable sized family and there has been a little friction amongst a few of the aunts and uncles along the way. My one aunt and cousin burnt their bridges a few years ago, and as neutral as I always have been, this was the final nail in the coffin for me. I have turned my back and would rather walk away from any negativity. I want to surround myself by people that I care about and care about me. Thankfully, most of today was spent doing this.

The girls didn’t stop all day and totally wore themselves out, making it a very quiet drive home. We stayed longer than we’d anticipated and ended up getting home just before the girls bedtime, and so once the girls were in bed, we decided to treat ourselves to a take away, rather than trying to start cooking late in the evening.

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on June 11, 2017, in 365 project, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

