Daily Archives: May 8, 2017

Day 051 – There is sunshine in my soul today

Day 51 – May 7th

The weather forecast had given me hope for today, and even knowing how unreliable it can be, I knew it was going to be a nice day. I was keen to head out with the wife and girls for a walk and enjoy the weather, but it would have to wait until after lunch as I was busy in the morning looking after my friends son J, as I was taking him out. We’d done our usual swim, but I decided to throw in a walk around the Lickey Hills with him too, it was nice out and he likes to walk. I don’t get much chance to take photos when I am watching him, but I can sneak a couple in, and a few was all it took. I got a few nice shots and so put the camera away again until later on.

After lunch we went out for a walk over Clent hills, Olivia loves to stretch her legs over there, and now Chloe is walking I wanted to give her a chance to wear herself out a bit too. With the sun on our skin and fresh air in our lungs, it seemed the perfect end to an afternoon by treating ourselves to an ice cream each on the way home.
IMG_7171
IMG_7194

Day 050 – You’re not my number one any more

Day 50 – May 6th

Saturday was a day of ‘firsts’ which started with a visit to the dentists. It was Olivia’s first time visiting the dentist and having her teeth looked at, and the first time I’d gone to the dentist in years, and actually had to pay for it. Yes, it has been that long since I last saw a dentist that the last time I went it was free as I was still in full time education. I’ve been lucky, I know that, I’ve always had good teeth and so have never been worried too much about whats going on in there. It was all over quite quickly, without much drama, although Olivia was a little intimidated by the big dentist chair, and ends up sitting on my lap while I was in the chair, even though we’d tried to prepare her for it, for a couple of days, but at least she didn’t run out screaming.

After a quiet afternoon, we decided that we were going to treat ourselves for tea, and all head out to the chip shop. The girls eat well during the week, and always get a fair.y balanced mix of fruit, vegetables and dairy, so we  don’t mind the occasional treat once in a while. 

That night was a chance to catch up with one of my oldest friends at the local pub, as Clare is often early to bed anyway, even at the weekend, so she doesn’t mind too much. We don’t see each other that often considering how close we live to each other, but at least we both have somewhere we can walk to when we do get the opportunity. Whilst I was out having a beer, my phone pinged with a photo message, a little baby! One of my close friends and his fiancĂ©, had just had their first baby, a beautiful little girl, and a relatively text book delivery too. What wonderful news, it fills my little heart with happiness! We can’t wait to meet her, and watch Olivia and Chloe play with her as they grow up. 
So today I raise a drink and congratulate my friends on their new arrival, baby Isla born today! 

