{insert title here}


Woosh! Week one of the six week holidays is gone in a flash, like a getaway car at the scene of a robbery, its left nothing but a trail of dust behind it!

I had, and still have lots of grand plans to make the most out of the holidays, to see lots of people, and be uber productive… yet a week has gone by already and I feel like I have done so little! Still, the importance of planning is not to be overlooked here, and anyone who knows me will know how much I love making lists. Lists are the only guaranteed way I will get things done, and done in a timely fashion. Without them I am prone to missing dates, deadlines and sometimes forgetting things altogether! The wife has already sought out chores for me to do, most of which I had plans to get done anyway, but now with the addition of a dry wipe white board in our kitchen, there is a never ending list of chores that gets updated anytime I complete anything off the list. It appears that I will not be without jobs to do over this six week break! I still need to make sure I find a little time for myself, just to put my feet up and relax, as I don’t tend to be very good at this and can end up feeling burnt out, sometimes I just forget to stop! I’m pretty sure the wife would disagree wholeheartedly on this one, but when I say I am “busy” its not necessarily doing housework or jobs that she had planned for me, it can be any number of things, editing photos, or emailing people about photos, working on the website, prepping my camera equipment for a shoot, or a hundred other things that clearly aren’t related to housework that the wife is probably blissfully unaware I even do! Trying to find the time to keep this blog updated is another very time consuming activity, and even though I started it for something completely different, I soon saw the benefits of keeping it up, even if I am now only posting once a week instead of the twice a week that I originally intended to. I can’t just type this blog up in 20 minutes, and I like to make sure I don’t miss anything out especially now I am only posting once a week. Its also virtually impossible to update the blog while I am looking after my daughter, she is almost two years old now and demands an increasing amount of attention. She can’t just be left to amuse herself with shiny, noisy things! I can usually pacify her for 15 minutes or so with an episode or three of Peppa Pig on the TV, unless she’s really tired and she may sit for a bit longer, but otherwise I have to do this thing called ‘parenting’ and apparently try to entertain the little person! I don’t always like to blog while the wife is still awake, as I feel a little antisocial sometimes, especially as I often haven’t seen her all day if we’re both at work. As she is often in bed before me, this gives me a small window of opportunity to get some typing done, although I do have to make sure I am distraction free, leaving the tv on is often enough to stop me from focusing on what I am supposed to be doing! Just lately I seem unable to focus properly beyond 10:30pm which is a little odd for a night owl like me, but my brain just begins to shut down and trying to formulate any kind of flowing thought which I can type up into something worth reading feels something like this…

So what has been happening in the last week? Well, there was a fantastic start to my holiday when we all met our good friends in Cannon Hill park with our little ones so they could run around and play together while we had a catch up. These were friends we had met at our antenatal meetings, and so our girls are only a few weeks apart. We had a slow stroll around the park,  and enjoyed the sunshine with the little ones taking in some fairground rides, before moving on to the Garden Tea Rooms for a rest in the sun, a quick drink and a bite to eat. It was a lovely way to spend a Saturday afternoon, and we ended up staying for a few hours, longer than we’d originally anticipated, and with nap time rapidly approaching we had to get Olivia home before she fell off the cliff and the inevitable exhaustion fuelled melt down started, not uncommon when nap time is late.

Sunday we had a 3rd birthday party to go to, and with the mixed weather we’ve been having, it felt like a stroke of luck that we were able to enjoy another day of sunshine for it! Thankfully I still managed to squeeze a morning run in before it with my friend, and it was good to get out and pound some tarmac again as we haven’t run for a number of weeks and I’ve really missed it! All in all, a great start to the day, and a lovely afternoon with the party, but of course, as always Olivia’s nap time means we had to head home and let madam get her much needed sleep.

Then around rolls Monday again, as its the holidays there is no alarm clock thankfully, but the wife decided to unleash her chores list on me. I made no promises, even if Olivia was still in nursery two days a week! Suddenly, in the blink of an eye, the first week is over, its all done and dusted. I’m not quite sure how it went so fast, if it had been a regular half term and only one week off I’d have been crying! Thankfully with five weeks still left to go, I can begin to unwind and appreciate the time off. With the second weekend already upon us, we have a day out planned courtesy of Olivia’s nursery, at Ash End House Farm. With our admission pre-paid, all we had to do was turn up and have fun! The day stayed warm and sunny, a huge blessing, and we got to enjoy a picnic outside at lunchtime. Olivia loved seeing the animals and  moved onto the playbarn afterwards, where she got to run around and let let off a little steam. After leaving red faced and a little warm, she certainly slept well that night!

Sadly the luck we’d had with the weather over the previous seven days didn’t last for us, and unfortunately on the one day we’d actually planned a bbq for some friends, it rained… ALL day! There wasn’t even a break in the rain where we could sneak outside and get the bbq on. We had no choice but to remove the problem of bad weather and cook everything indoors. Its not what you want when you’ve planned a bbq, but grilled burgers are better than no burgers at all!

So that was the first week of the holidays done, its gone in a flash and I am not sure where.

Exciting news to come soon, big announcement due. I’ll leave you guessing for a little while though!

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on July 28, 2015, in Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

