319.365


151114

Now its no secret that I often start my weekend with a refreshing 10km run around the reservoir with a friend, but not this today, I’d been forced into cancelling this weeks run because of the common cold. A cold isn’t much of an excuse, I know, but it has brought with it a really bad chest leaving me coughing up all sorts of nasty stuff. A 6 mile run would really not do it any benefit in terms of recovery and I really need to be over this as quickly as I can so that I can get back on the bike on Monday morning. It’s a real shame as well today, as I was going to be running with two friends this morning, instead of just the regular one, but it looks like we’ll have to try again next weekend instead. I’ve had to ease off everything, including the cycling, as I have also been taking the car to work for a couple of days this week to give my lungs a rest from all the coughing, but as nice as it is to arrive at work not all sweaty and needing a shower, I do really hate the rush hour traffic! My journey is just over 5 miles, nothing really, but for the three days I’ve been driving it has taken me about 40 minutes, that TWICE what it takes me to cycle there on my bike!!

Of course, I’m not the only one who has been ill…
biohazard
and we’ve gone and put the blame firmly on Olivia for bringing nursery germs home with her. The poor little thing has been coughing a lot this last few days, waking her up at night, and has had a nose slightly resembling the Nile! I’ve been coughing myself a lot, on top of having a cold, and Clare has inevitably picked up a few of these germs too. So we’ve decided to shut ourselves away this weekend, and not spread any of this onto others. Our original plan was to visit our friends, Olivia’s Godparents, to deliver a present for their son, but we didn’t think it fair to pass on our germs, and so postponed. It’s always nice to catch up with them, and I was sad that we couldn’t make it, but this was only going to be a brief visit anyway, although we were still aware of the need to get the present delivered as soon as possible.

So a day at home it was, and ending with an evening of pizza and movies for me and the wife when Olivia had finally gone to bed. I knew we’d have to get the film on promptly to give Clare the best chance of staying awake right through to the end. I couldn’t believe that she hadn’t seen the film Misery, and as it turns out keeping her on the edge of her seat also kept her awake, a small success!

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on November 16, 2014, in 365 project, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

