365 project, Personal, Photography

287.365


141014
Tuesday is generally my busiest day of the week, mostly so because of the evening being taken up by my jujitsu class, and the travelling to and from it. I’ll pick Olivia up from nursery at 5:30pm and Clare will be home by 6pm, and after seeing them both very briefly I will have to leave by no later than 6:15pm to make it to training on time, giving me very little time with my family this evening, as I won’t be back until about 8:45pm long after Olivia will have gone to bed. It’s a weekly thing, but it’s starting to bother me. I just don’t seem to have the same passion for the martial arts training I used to, and I know it’s probably mostly because of the travelling. Clare has even suggested I find a nearer class to home so that I’m not spending as much time in the car, but it wouldn’t be the same, I actually like the group I train with. I’m just feeling like I have too many things demanding my time, and right now nothing is more important than time with my daughter! She is growing up too fast and changing every single day, and I want to be there to not only see it, but be a part of it, to be the one to teach her things, to encourage her. I’ll go to my class tonight, and I know I’ll enjoy it while I’m there, but my heart isn’t in it at the moment.

In other more positive news, in four weeks time the Birmingham Frankfurt Christmas Market will have just opened. This inevitably generates a variety of responses, from the typical “oh shut up about christmas, it’s too soon!“, to the indifferent “the German Market is rubbish, it’s always the same overpriced tat… and what’s German about it anyway?“, to the more optimistic “yay! Christmas is almost here!“. I will always fall into the latter category, Christmas can’t start soon enough for me, and as expensive as the German market can be, a) it’s a great meeting place for people and a fun afternoon out, and I’ll definitely be meeting several friends there over the Christmas period, b) as soon as you go you instantly start to feel more festive, the music, the mulled wine, everyone wrapped up in scarves and gloves, plus c) it generates a lot of trade for Birmingham, as people travel from miles around to come and see it. Our only consideration will be how we’re going to get Olivia around. It’ll be too busy for a buggy, and I think she’s now too big for the chest harness, I may just have to carry her!? Not ideal, but its that or I think I am just going to have to brave the crowds with a buggy and accept that its going to be a bit tricky. With only four weeks to go though, I really can’t wait!

The first thing Birmingham needs to prepare for, ahead of the german market though, is the imminent road closures this weekend for Sunday’s half marathon, as yet again its that time of year. Yes, the road closures are a pain in the neck, but they raise so much money for so many good causes, literally hundreds of thousands of pounds! I have been training each week for several months, and now I’m ready to tackle the 13.1 miles of Birmingham’s streets, so don’t forget to sponsor me ** http://www.justgiving.com/andrew-vokes1 ** The money I raise this year will be going to Cystic Fibrosis to help fund much needed research into this awful genetic condition that my best friends little boy was born with. The extent of his complications may not be fully known for a few more years yet, but at the moment he is just starting school and to think that he has so much to contend with as he gets older, and in an unknown quantity, is quite worrying. So please, even if you’re reading this and haven’t actually met me, dig deep and spare a little cash anyway, its for a great cause.

Todays photo? Well, without a photo for the day, this was literally the last thing I had to do before bed, make lunch for tomorrow. It may only be the humble sandwich, but it is still made with home made fresh bread, none of the nasty supermarket rubbish, and best of all, we have a new loaf, our own version of the 50/50 loaf, much to the delight of my wife. The white bread was lovely, my favourite, and the wholemeal was surprisingly good too, although a little heavy for the wife, so we mixed it and made our 50% white and 50% wholemeal loaf, and the wife gives it a big thumbs up! I’ve decided to treat myself to a bit of chicken and stuffing for tomorrow in case you were interested… I’m sure you’re not, but I’m still looking forward to it all the same! Its a bit of a tough one lunch is, I can’t go a day without it, yet it gets so little thought, unlike the evening meal which we plan for, shop for and then spend our time cooking. Why does lunch get so overlooked? Why am I even worrying about it at such a stupid hour? Why is anyone still reading when I am going on about my lunch? Oh so many questions! Time for bed I think!

Please, share your thoughts...

