242.365


300814

I always say that there is no better way to start the weekend than with a run, and today I had planned to meet a friend at the local reservoir for a 7.5 mile run to help her train for the upcoming Birmingham Half Marathon, or Birmingham Great Run as its known these days. For me, this mornings training was more for the fun of it, but it will be useful if I do still decide to put my name down for the half marathon too. The weather was great for running, not too warm, not too cold, plenty of cloud cover to stop us overheating in the sun and we did the 7.5 miles without any problems. From there, it was straight onto a training session, and I was overjoyed to take my friend with me who had signed up and joined the team becoming my first recruit. This is great news for me as I start to build my team and look to the future, but this is fantastic news for her as she’s had a terrible time at work and could really do with an opportunity like this to become her own boss and get rid of the stresses of the day job. I can’t wait for the day when she becomes successful enough to hand in her notice at work, and that’s half of what this is about, not just helping myself but helping my friends as well, giving them a chance to change their life for the better. Its an exciting journey and I am glad I can do my bit. The training session was great fun and soon I was on my way home to spend the rest of the weekend with the family. We didn’t go far as I’d only hoped to catch up with one friend today, who was busy in the afternoon anyway, and sadly suddenly became available after they’d been let down, but too late for us to make it over to see them. Our only trip out today was a visit to Asda to get some baking supplies as the wife was making a cake for her mothers birthday on Sunday.

This week we’d had a number of deliveries (I love shopping online!), mostly for Olivia’s first birthday which is now just days away, and one of them was her new bumblebee rocker. We decided that at this age, she wasn’t going to understand her birthday anyway, and so it wouldn’t matter if she had one present a few days early. We put the rocker together and she loved it!

The plan for the rest of the evening was about as perfect as I could hope it to be really, chinese takeaway, a few beers and a good film with the wife, all followed by a bonfire in the garden to get rid of some wood we had left over from last year when we were working on the house, getting it ready to move into. There was a temptation to take it all to the tip of course, as it had been hanging around for so long, but why would I want to do that if I could succumb to my caveman instincts and burn it all in the garden? I purchased a fire pit for this very purpose, so that it would keep the fire contained and safe, so that I could burn as much as I wanted to without anything being affected by it, and could even happily walk away and leave the embers to go out by themselves.

Unfortunately, with a goal to get rid of all the wood in the garden to make way for next weeks party, I had to stay up a bit later than I planned as this wasn’t just burning for the fun of it. Thankfully an hour spent sawing the wood up earlier in the evening meant it was easy to burn lots of it quickly, and the job was done quite efficiently. Now, a rather large pile of wood is no more than a handful of ashes which can be put into the composter and put to good use! Having a garden is great!!

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on August 31, 2014, in 365 project, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

