225.365


130814

We’re now half way through August, which means that we are over halfway through the six week holidays, although I am trying not to think about the inevitable returning to work and having to leave my daughter with the grandparents and the nursery staff who are both are going to do a fantastic job of taking care of her, I don’t doubt that for a second, but that still doesn’t mean I want to leave her. From this, I can only get a glimpse of what it must have been like for Clare returning to work after maternity leave!

Today started with Olivia’s usual routine of breakfast, a bottle of milk, before before going back to bed for her morning nap, althoughI was dtermined, one way or another, to be getting out for a few hours today. I had already arranged to visit my good friend Vanessa, my longest friend, as we have known each other since we were 3 years old, and that was a long time ago. Our mothers had known each other from when we attended playgroup together, and we regularly used to play together at each others houses when the moms met up. Over time, events meant that we lost touch eventually, back int he day, without mobiles phones, email, or the internet, that happened a lot! A few years on we both ended up at the same secondary school, the odds of which being very small, as this particular school was not my first choice and was over 9 miles from home! A solid 45 minutes on the bus each way, and without the likes of an iPhone or iPod to entertain me! If I was lucky, one of the few others that also lived that far out would be sitting close by that I could talk to.
We had a nice afternoon catching up with Vanessa and her two boys, and Olivia behaved beautifully as usual, with lots of smiles and cuddles, which comes as no surprise but it always a relief. Although I was aware this could change at any minute as she was overdue her afternoon nap and was starting to get tired. We made our way home, and Olivia unsurprisingly slept in the car, a good thing as the traffic was horrible, and progress was slow. As Clare’s parents live on the next road, I dropped Olivia off for an hour as they’d wanted to see her, while I popped home for a bit.

After dinner, I briefly caught up with a couple of my friends again, and was reminded of my shame in failing to stay out late on Saturday, as a couple of beers and a couple of shots was apparently all it took to knock me off my feet! How out of practise am I?? Clearly needing to get out a bit more often if that’s what happens on a night out! We have a stag do to go on in five weeks, I can’t be tapping out by midnight, I’d never live it down!

One thing I have decided though, is that if I am going to be taking a photo every day and continue this then I can’t be taking it late at night again, its a pretty rubbish way to end the day, trying desperately to force some creativity into a shot, although I think I did a reasonable job this evening! There won’t be many days like this though, and sometimes no creativity comes at all! Lets get that camera out and get shooting today, and see what we can come up with!

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on August 14, 2014, in 365 project, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

