179.365


“Whether I fail or succeed shall be no man’s doing but my own.”

280614

Todays photo was again, another last minute, clutching at straws, “I’ve got nothing for today” type shot. It’s not that nothing happened today, quite the opposite, but I didn’t really feel like anything grabbed me enough to whip the camera out. Todays photo is somewhat of a technology breakthrough though, for the photography geeks among us who remember buying film for our old pre-digital cameras, they may remember that most shops stocked a choice of ISO 100, 200 or 400 speed film. The ISO100 being the least sensitive to light and needinga longer shutter speed, although producing a higher quality image, while the ISO400 film being the most sensitive and needing less light, also produces a lower quality image due to the grain size in the film. Digital cameras followed this sensitivity trend with their digital sensors, and a similar pattern was reproduced, meaning that ISO100 in a digital camera, like its film counterpart, needed more light but produced a higher quality image than an ISO400 image. But then things moved up a gear when companies brought out camera sensors that were much more sensitive, pushing the ISO up to 1600. The need for light was reduced, but the images were not great quality. Companies wanted to fix this and brought out new software and firmware updates for the cameras to be able to handle the noise on a high ISO shot. Tonights photo was actuallly taken in pretty low light in the living room, and with the ISO set at ISO16000. If you look closely though, you will see the noise in the image, its there and its fairly obvious, but it is worth taking note that the image is still sharp, regardless of quality!

So there’s your photography lesson for tonight!

Anyway, I have taken another self portrait of me, because I guess the next few weeks are about me, looking at my new opportunity and working out the different ways I can attack it and produce something amazing for my family. Then working out how I am going to get other people on board too, although the opportunity should sell itself really. I don’t want to give too much away on here just yet, but I see the future looking bright. Hard work is needed, and the benefits will arrive all in good time!

This afternoon we made it over to see my mother as it is her partners birthday today, the man who is essentially my stepdad, although my mom had sworn never to remarry again! We wanted to drop a card and present off, and let them see Olivia for a few hours as it is difficult for them to make it over to us now. One of my sisters came over too, which was nice to see as she was sorting out a few differences with my mom, and it all ended happy as far as I know. I hate it when families fall out, sometimes it is inevitable and you can’t fight it, other times its simply a case of two people being stubborn and takes one separate person to stick their nose in to try and re-grease the wheels of reasoning and get things moving again. Anyway, it was a lovely way to spend an afternoon, and definitely beat the alternative of a soggy walk in the rain!

Today was also the start of a new trial, a new product has caught my attention, a drink to help my joints for running, to boost my energy levels and hopefully keep me generally feeling fitter, with Aloe Vera being a major component of the drink, and the more I read about this product, the more I want to use it. It may well tie in with this mornings lie in, courtesy of the wife, but today is the first day in several weeks that I took this drink and find myself feeling great! Usually by this point, my blog is taking 3x as long as it should do because I keep falling asleep, but not today. I feel great and feel pretty confident that I’ll get a great nights sleep too. Lets see how it goes!

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on June 28, 2014, in 365 project, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

