365 project, Personal, Photography

169.365


“The choices you make now, the people you surround yourself with, they all have the potential to affect your life, even who you are, forever.”

180614

When the sun goes down, what can you do with your camera? Use a flash? Take a long exposure shot? How about both?! Today being Wednesday I was off work for the entire day and yet only took a couple of shots of Olivia. As many of you know, and those of you especially who may be facebook friends, by far the most photographed thing in my life is my daughter Olivia. Am I just a photo fanatic? Am I an over obsessed parent? I’d like to say neither on this count, I just want a record of her daily changes, in the hope that at the end of her first year I can do something with all these images, maybe put them into a short slideshow or something. Anyway, I opted against using my daughter as a 365 model today, and decided to play with the flashgun in the garden. I am not breaking any new ground here, its just a technique I’ve not really played with before, and to be honest I quite like the effect!

So whats with todays quote? Well, I am going to keep this one a little obscure for the time being, but part of my day involved meeting up with an old work friend that I haven’t seen for sometime to talk about something they have become a part of in recent months, a new venture, something that I am considering for myself. I have heard many positive things about it, but it will take a significant commitment from myself to make this work, but I am at a place now where I have to weigh up the consideration of what lies ahead either being “too good to be true” or a “fantastic opportunity” and try to work out what my next move is. I know, I know, I am being very vague about it, but I need to work this out in my own head before I get any input from others. It doesn’t sound like I have a lot to lose, but I don’t want to get my hopes up too much on how this could really help things for me.

Aside from that it was just nice to have today of with Olivia, as obviously we had no-one else to take care of her today. So as much as it stings a bit financially, it is always a pleasure to be able to spend a day with her. She has been so good, eating well and being so happy all day, right up until bedtime when she just runs out of energy and needs her sleep. Pretty much like I have been doing lately. I did manage to get a few things done around the house, like fixing a drawer and getting the lawn cut, but it does limit what you can do when you have a baby that needs entertaining. Peppa pig will only hold her attention for so long, and I hate just leaving her to watch the tv when I should be spending time with her myself! Still, its only for short bursts while I am trying to do things, I just don’t want the wife to walk in from work, look around the house with her hands on her hips and wonder what I have actually bothered doing today, with an accusing look in her eye! I am sure she would be totally understanding that sometimes you just have “one of those days” but with only one day off a week, I don’t want to appear like I have spent the whole day with my feet up watching Jeremy Kyle!

Please, share your thoughts...

