157.365


“Parents can only give good advice or put them on the right paths, but the final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands.” –Anne Frank

20140606_095711369_iOS (1)

So todays photo, a simple flower, significant though for two reasons. Firstly this flower was photographed where I work, which for those of you who don’t know is a school (I’ve not noticed them anywhere else!), and it is one of several bushes that has flowered in our playground and the smell is beautiful, it takes me way back to when I was a child as I haven’t smelt that significant scent since I wore shorts and a tie and carried a little satchel and walked past identical bushes on the way into my junior school. Its funny how certain smells can immediately bring certain memories back to life and make us think about things and people and how we felt at the time in a way that sounds or photos just can’t! Yet always seem to remember certain rooms, individuals (did your nan ever wear strong perfume and never change it?) or even peoples houses having a certain scent about them. Well these flowers smelt lovely and I suddenly felt seven years old again for the briefest of moments! The other significant thing about todays photo, for me, is the level of detail in it, bearing in mind that I wasn’t using a big SLR camera with some fancy schmancy lens on it… I shot this on my iPhone! Yup, just my iPhone! I can’t lie, I’m quite impressed with it!

Today is Friday, and this time I am definitely looking forward to the weekend, although the weather forecast isn’t great, but at least today the sun is shining and it is warm and definitely feeling more like a day in June should do! The mother in law is looking after Olivia again for us today, but I have planned to visit the nursery closest to us as soon as I get home. Olivia was asleep when I got back, but woke up shortly after I got in, which was great timing, and so with the mother in law on her way, I got Olivia ready to go out for a walk to the nursery with me. Clare had visited two yesterday, and both were good, but she got a particular good feeling from the one, which also happens to be the closest and easiest to get to for us as a bonus, so I decided to go and have a look. I could have waited until next week, but with more people interested than they have places for, I decided against hanging around as there was no benefit in it. I didn’t want to create my own list of potential nurseries and then battle with the wife as to which one we should send Olivia to, obviously the closer to home the better for us, and with Clare trusting her mothers instinct to guide her, I had to trust her feelings. For me, the visit was just to go and make sure nothing stood out as a concern and to meet the staff and make sure I got the same feeling, which I did. Maing sure we discuss it this weekend, as long as we we are both singing from the same hymn sheet then there is no reason to hang about with getting Olivia’s name down and securing a place for her, and thereby taking the worry of how the future will look away from us. It was a warm afternoon, and after cycling home at speed, uphill, I was struggling to cool myself down after getting off the bike, especially as our little princess had woken up in a funny mood and didn’t want to go in her buggy for the walk, and so daddy, already a little sweaty, had to carry madam whilst pushing her buggy at the same time. I must have looked a right state when I got to the nursery! It was much bigger than I imagined from having driven past it previously, but it was very welcoming inside and the staff were lovely. It was an even more pleasant surprise when Clare turned up after getting off the bus from work just outside, and so was able to walk home with us!

Tonight we’d decided on pizza for tea, and while I was out picking some up, I also grabbed myself a few beers, it was Friday after all! Sadly, after our 5am baby alarm call, I was shattered and got through a whole two beers before I was falling asleep to a film downstairs. I tapped out and threw in the towel. Midnight on a Friday and I was in bed, oh the rock and roll life of a parent!

Please, share your thoughts...

