156.365


“You can’t plough a field by turning it over in your mind. Either you get out there and plough it or it doesn’t get done.”

050614

The sun lighting up the bedroom through the curtain was a welcome start to the morning, although it was still an effort to get out of bed. Our little lady was wide awake by 6:30am and so I brought her into our room for some cuddles before we were ready to actually get up. This meant I was late getting ready and inevitably late getting out of the house again, but I soon found some energy as soon as I climbed onto the bike and started peddling. The day was fairly smooth and the first week of seven is almost over. In the mindset of someone who works in a school, this means only six weeks left until the big summer holiday, in reality for me and Clare it means we really need to get thinking about Olivia’s first birthday now being only three months away, and what we’re going to do for it. Where do we have it? Who do we invite? If Olivia is only one and doesn’t really understand it do we just have a small affair or go crazy and have something much bigger? There is the temptation to go nuts as its our little lady’s first year on this planet and first ever birthday celebration, but we have already been to a few first birthdays and of course the baby really doesn’t have a clue what is going on, which does make me wonder, is it really necessary going to all that effort? Of course it isn’t, not for the baby anyway, but for the parents, a different story! Anyway, we have a few weeks to start thinking about that in any great detail, what is quite pressing for us is the nursery scenario that we have found ourselves in. Thankfully we have two nurseries within a few minutes walking distance of each other and our house, so Clare took Olivia our for a walk in the buggy while the sun was shining to have a look at these nurseries, chat to the staff and make a decision. Now all thats left for me to do is to go and have a look myself and make sure I am happy with it too! I can’t see why I wouldn’t be happy, but I wouldn’t seem right to just send her there if I hadn’t at least had a little look round to confirm that we are both in agreement.

As yesterday had been one long downpour, and there was no chance of getting over to the allotment, and as me and Dave had committed ourselves to one evening a week to get over there, even just for an hour, to keep on top of the weeds, we postponed until tonight. We had about an hour and a half of daylight to work with by the time we got there, which was fine, as we didn’t want it to be taking up entire evenings, Committing to once a week needs to feel achievable or we won’t be able to sustain it! I even got treated to a can of beer courtesy of Dave while I was over there on my hands and knees pulling up weeds! Before we know it, its starting to get a bit cold and considerably darker than when we started, its time to pack up and call it a day! I had left the car and walked round to Daves house and so driving the car home after a beer wasn’t a concern at all! I must admit that I had considered stopping for a second one, but when I looked at checked the time, it was considerably later than I’d imagined, and so off I set!

Please, share your thoughts...

