365 project, Personal, Photography

100.365


“There are no bad pictures; that’s just how your face looks sometimes.”

100414

Its still not Friday is it?

Damn it!

The week is drawing to an end finally though, and while it hasn’t been a difficult week at work I have struggled through it. I never like to wish away time, but it has just felt like a really long week. On a plus note, the weather has been fairly good and has made cycling nice and easy, very little rain and nice temperatures for outdoor exercise! The only question is, have my poor little legs got enough steam in them for one more day, or do I take the car, especially as I have a laptop and folders to bring home which are too heavy for the bike? I do fortunately have an alternate plan for the laptop and folders if I do decide to cycle, although it requires favours from work friends who I haven’t asked yet.

I came home tonight to the wife and daughter stood in the living room window waving at me, which was lovely. They had both been out today into town to meet the wife’s work friends for lunch, and our little girl had behaved herself so well, being passed around, eating her dinner properly, and even put her thumb in her mouth and fell asleep on one of the wife’s bustier friends, who seems to think her “natural pillows” did the trick! Its fair to say that she is definitely napping less during the day than she used to, and struggles from 6pm onwards, which is when the yawning starts. So it was up to daddy to sort out bath time again, its wakes her up a bit between 6pm and her bedtime bottle, and makes part of a nice bedtime routine for her. I’d love to make story time part of the whole bedtime routine, but she keeps falling asleep during her last bottle of the day, and doesn’t wake up even when she is taken upstairs to bed! There is no rush for story time though, we have many years to worry about that just yet! Bath time is a nice thing to do though, as its a really nice bonding time for us, time to spend together that isn’t just me sticking a bottle of milk in her mouth!

Another thing I have to look forward to, on top of being off work and time with the family, is that my littlest hobo friend Alan is back from his travels around the world, for a while at least!

If you grew up in the eighties, you may remember this programme, and the theme tune was perfect, this ones for you Alan…

There’s a voice that keeps on calling me
Down the road is where I’ll always be

Every stop I make, I’ll make a new friend
Can’t stay for long, just turn around and I’m gone again.

Maybe tomorrow, I’ll want to settle down,
Until tomorrow, I’ll just keep moving on.

Down this road, that never seems to end,
Where new adventure, lies just around the bend.

So if you want to join me for a while
Just grab your hat, come travel light – that’s hobo style.

The sad truth is, he’s probably too young to even remember this programme, although I loved it and still know a bunch of people who will remember it, and they’ll get it! Anyway, in keeping up with his facebook (or trying to!) I know he’s had a blast and is going to struggle to re-adjust to life in the UK, the weather and the grumpy people, but I am looking forward to catching up over a beer and some food very soon, and little Olivia is looking forward to meeting her uncle Alan! I don’t think I’ll go through all his pics though, I’ll be bleary eyed and on my ninth can of Red Bull at 5am in the morning and still won’t be finished!!

Well, tonights early night is now officially out of the window, no surprise there, but I’d better hit the hay soon if I want to stand any chance of dragging my ass out of bed in the morning!

Please, share your thoughts...

