99.365


“And Now for Something Completely Different”

090414

I came home tonight with a real Friday feeling going on, that “Ahh let’s crack open a beer and turn off the alarm clock” kinda feeling.

Its not Friday is it?

Its not even Thursday!

Wednesday? How is it only Wednesday?!

I don’t normally complain about the week dragging, and rarely does it feel like it actually is, especially lately, but I just think I have run out of steam this week. My batteries are empty! Still, a mere two days left, and then its the holidays. I need to plan a few days out to make the most of it. Either way, I am sure two weeks will be gone in a flash, but sitting around the house through choice just feels like so much of a waste when there is so much we could be seeing and doing. Even if it raining, I would love to catch up with people we haven’t been able to see for a while, of which there are plenty! I am sure we will have enough dry weather to have a few nice days out, and it isn’t really too important what we do as Olivia is too young to remember it, and the main goal behind it is just spending time together as a family. Ideally it would be walks along the beach and picnics, days out walking through forests, going to the zoo, walking up hills and through country parks, not caring about whether or not there was a phone signal. I guess what is really important is giving Olivia the chance to explore nature, to get messy, and not just to see her sat around in front of the tv, or glued to a laptop/iPad and utter those dreaded words… “I’m bored!”. Kids need to play and explore, they need to take risks and hurt themselves sometimes, its all an important part of learning. I look back on the tough job my one sister had with her two girls, very little money to spend on fancy toys or holidays, but two children that still needed entertaining regardless, and so she used to take them out, walking, visiting, camping, exploring and they loved it and became better people because of it, I reckon! What I also need to consider at the same time is not hiding all this magical technology away from Olivia and being overprotective, worrying that “she won’t develop properly if she’s glued to some sort of screen!”. Technology is the way forward, and kids need to learn it, for those that don’t will be left behind! I guess the trick is finding the right balance! If she ends up being able to edit a mobile phone video before she knows how to make friends properly, then I haven’t done a very good job of being a parent! There is a time and a place for technology, but it can’t come between real learning, like what does it feel like to roll down a hill, what does it feel like to put on some wellies and jump in a puddle, what will I find if I lift up this rock, I wonder if that group of children will play with me, how do I make a sandcastle? I could go on, but I think I have made my point! My parents didn’t have much money when I was growing up, but i’ll always remember that I had a lot of fun exploring things and learning about things, staring up at the night sky through a telescope, trying to catch stickleback fish in a net in the local stream, playing games in the street, my fingers freezing as I built a snowman. My mom was so behind the times with technology that we didn’t even have a video recorder until I was 15 years old, and we only had four channels on the tv then, so apart from a couple of hours of kids tv after school, there wasn’t a huge amount to watch!

Oh how things have changed though, I would consider myself fairly tech savvy now, and loev my gadgets (as the wife would agree with) although sometimes I have to remember to put it down and switch it off, because life is happening and I don’t want to miss it because I was too busy glued to a screen going on and on about how my daughter shouldn’t be! How ironic would THAT be?!

Incidentally, todays picture was taken and edited completely on my iPhone 5 using the snapseed app.

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on April 9, 2014, in 365 project, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

