75.365.2014


“Parklife”

160314

It takes a real Formula 1 fan to understand why I set my alarm for 4:45am today and was in the car by 5:10am heading out to a bar in the city centre. It has been a long 4 months waiting for the 2014 season to begin in Australia, but today it was finally here, and with a whole bunch of new rule changes to add an even more excitement to the races. I recently discovered F1inpubs and decided that rather than sitting and watching it alone, I’d go and watch it with a bunch of people who enjoyed it as much as me, and even managed to find one of my friends who was keen to come too, one of the dads from our antenatal group. I’ll be honest, I thought he may have overslept, but no, sure enough he was there! The race kicked off at 6am and we were tucking into a full english breakfast and a cup of tea soon after that. It may have been stupidly early, but it was a great way to start the day. The sun was shining by the time the race was over, and I was home by 8:20am just as Clare was up and feeding Olivia, ready to start the day. The sun stayed out and the morning was getting warmer and warmer, there was absolutely no way we were staying in the house, and so off to Cannon Hill Park it was. I knew it was going to be busy, it always is on a hot day, but the crowds aren’t what put me off, its just the sheer lack of parking on days like this, every man and his dog seems to head there as soon as the sun peeps out! We got lucky and bagged a space quite quickly, and set off on a very leisurely stroll around the park. There isn’t much that beats a Sunday afternoon stroll in the park with the wife and daughter on a sunny afternoon, I think the only thing that could have finished the afternoon off would have been a queue of less than 50 people for the ice cream van!! We finished our walk and took Olivia home for lunch, and it wasn’t long before we had friends come to visit, another couple from our antenatal group returning a travel cot they’d borrowed, and it was lovely to catch up with them over a cup of tea. I was due to visit a friend later this afternoon to drop some photos off and take a few shots of their little girl, but unfortunately we had to reschedule. On top of their wedding, I’ve captured their bump, newborn and christening photos. I’d really like to get another shot for them now their little girl is approaching her first birthday!

After a delicious dinner cooked by my fantastic wife, this evening is just about relaxing and getting myself ready for the week ahead. Hmm, if only I had a nice bottle of red and an empty glass next to me, that could possibly make the perfect Sunday!

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on March 16, 2014, in 365 project, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

