40.365.2014


“You can cut all the flowers but you cannot keep Spring from coming.”

090214

I can’t lie, this weekend has been lovely! I’m a lucky guy, and I’ve been able to spend two whole days with my two favourite ladies. The weekend has gone way too quickly again, I can’t believe Sunday night has rolled around already, but it is fair to say that I have enjoyed every minute of it. In days gone by I’d enjoy crazy nights out on the Saturday and be grateful for the Sunday to recover, but now I am a parent life is a little different! In fact, if anything, I am enjoying my weekends more than I ever used to! Today I decided to make the most of my day and drew up a to-do list in the morning. We had friends due over for lunch, which meant I had limited hours to get everything done, still achievable, but it needed a bit of planning! First I was off to the tip to clear out some stuff from the garage, passing by halfords on the way back to replace the broken headlight bulb. That left me with just enough time to get to B&Q to buy some more loft insulation to finish filling in the last spot in the loft as we’re expecting a bit of a cold spell next week. I got home just in time for a shower before our friends Richard and Tracy turned up for lunch with their little boy. It was a lovely afternoon and Clare took care of the food today, which was delicious! Our guests brought a bottle of red wine with them, but didn’t want any, so I made sure it didn’t go to waste. We all had a really nice time, and I look forward to catching up with them again soon. That evening, after our friends had left, Clare headed out to the shop to buy some Sunday evening snacks to go with our film, A Bronx Tale, while I settled Olivia in her cot and jumped in the loft to throw the insulation down. Now its time to put the film on and for a little more red wine to go with our snacks!

I took todays photo this morning in the front garden, I spotted some flowers shooting up which gave me a little hope that spring could be on the way, but the reality is that we still haven’t had a big freeze yet or any snow. These two things never miss a year, and we are going to have to face them at some point, which is a little frustrating as the weeks roll by as I really want to get some vegetable seeds planted so we can get this allotment moving again this year.

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on February 9, 2014, in 365 project, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

