Day 356/365


“Christmas is not as much about opening our presents as opening our hearts.”

1222

Sundays plans for visiting our friends Richard and Candice were put on hold at the last minute when they had to postpone the day because of water coming through the ceiling. Thankfully the damage doesnt sound too bad, so we’re back on for next week instead, but this left me without any plans for the day. As we were having friends visiting in the evening for some food, I decided to brave the crowds and head to Asda for some food for the evening. The crowds weren’t too bad, but the parking was chronic, maximum patience was required to not get out of the car and beat people to death with my bare hands! I had to double check I had everything before heading through the checkout as there was no way I was heading back in there once I’d left!

We made our free afternoon productive and gave the house a good clean from top to bottom, ready for our guests, Ella and Alan. I went to school with Ella, and so have known her almost 25 years now, which just seems crazy! I still don’t feel old enough to have known someone for 25 years. I found out a few weeks ago that Ella and Alan had made the decision to move to Ireland, where Alan is from, on a permanent basis. So this was just a two week visit back to England over Christmas for them to see friends and family, so I felt quite honoured that they’d decided to spent one of those evenings with us! We got through a few pizzas and had a few drinks, and had a lovely evening going through some photos. It was great to see them, and look forward to the next time.

Unfortunately, after they left I suddenly realised how warm and relaxed I had become, and after a few drinks that evening, could not keep my eyes open. I made an attempt to pick up my laptop and start typing, and promptly fell asleep on the sofa until about 3am. So this is a second ‘morning after’ blog in a week. Not a huge concern with just over a week to go, and I can begin to pat myself on the back as I have pretty much completed the year, or as good as! So to continue the debate with myself as to whether to take on a second year or not…

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on December 23, 2013, in 365 project, Personal, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

