Day 343/365


“The Christmas tree, twinkling with lights, had a mountain of gifts piled up beneath it, like offerings to the great god of excess.”

1209

Back to the working week and now only two weeks to the christmas holidays and a stark reminder that, even with all best intentions of being organised this year for a change, christmas is approaching fast and I have hardly got a single thing prepared. It should have been even easier with less presents to buy, as we’re cutting back a bit now Olivia is here, and with the imminent prospect of a few tight months ahead as Clare’s statutory maternity pay kicks in. Still, christmas isn’t all about big flashy presents, well at least not for a couple of years anyway, for me its about family and friends getting together and eating and drinking well, spending time together and making memories. The expensive presents can wait a few years until Olivia becomes more aware of what christmas is and is undoubtably influenced by the hardcore advertising being jammed in between all the kids programs on tv!

I came home from work today to a wonderful dinner cooked up by the wife, and straight after we headed out to Merry Hill shopping centre to pick up some easy gifts that didn’t require too much thinking about. I still have a few left to get, but they’re going to take a bit of time. I can’t just pick up anything, for the sake of buying a gift. If its going to get put in a drawer and not used, or thrown away, I don’t see the point in wasting the money. I at least managed to get what I went out for, and the early night I am still craving is slipping away from me as I realise there is still so much to do before I go to bed!

Please, share your thoughts...

