Day 323/365


“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”

1119

The intention is for a short entry tonight, its late. Another shot of my daughter, I wanted to play with my wide angle lens as I like the effect it creates, even if Olivia’s face does look a bit of a funny shape now!

She was weighed today, by the midwife, and is happily putting on weight, although the midwife seems to think we’re not giving her enough milk. The wife and I have chatted and although we’ve taken on board what the midwife said, we have to use our instinct as parents, and neither of us think Olivia is ready for as much milk as the midwife suggested. I know she is probably a very experienced lady who has seen lots of babies, but she is going on a general recommendation from a text book, we are using the guide on the milk formula box we use and our observations of Olivia and how happy and contented she is. All babies are different, and ours is doing just fine with the milk we’ve been giving her. We will start to increase it slightly, as Olivia’s weight had gone up by a very healthy amount, but not quite by the amount the midwife was expecting. So we’re very close, and doing very well I think, as first time parents. I am a bit disappointed in the midwife to be honest, for how her comments made Clare feel, almost like she was a poor mom doing a bad job when it couldn’t be any further from the truth. We made decisions together and agreed on things together, but while I have been out at work, the wife has done a fantastic job of looking after our daughter, and each weigh in with the midwives previous to this has been spot on, as I believe was our feeding schedule. So we’re taking this advice with a pinch of salt.

To my wife, well done, keep up the good work! You’re doing a great job and I’m proud of you!

One thought on “Day 323/365

Please, share your thoughts...

