Day 262/365


“When we are no longer able to change a situation – we are challenged to change ourselves.”

0919

There used to be a time when “getting a few bottles in for the weekend” meant something totally different!

This weekend i’m hoping it will mean what it used to mean, and although i’m unsure of plans, I’ll be hoping to catch up with friends on Friday night for a few drinks up town! Before anyone thinks “oh what a terrible husband, leaving the wife and baby at home”, it’s actually the wife’s turn next Friday, and I’ll be the one flicking tv channels with a sleeping baby sprawled across my chest!

Focusing back on today, it was the day I was least looking forward to after my baby was born, and that was going back to work. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy my job, but after 6 whole weeks off with the wife, looking after her and bump, and then a further two weeks off taking care of my little princess, readjusting to the daily grind has not been especially easy. Thankfully the alarm clock didn’t come as much of a shock as I was already adjusted to early morning rises with a living breathing random alarm clock, which today happened to get me up half hour before my alarm went off anyway! I didn’t have my bike or cycling clothes ready, nor did I have the energy. So with the wife unable to drive for a couple of weeks, todays mode of transport was a bit of a no-brainer!

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on September 19, 2013, in 365 project, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

