Day 238/365


“As you walk down the fairway of life you must smell the roses, for you only get to play one round.”

0826

I decided to get up today and get involved in a Body Combat session as I haven’t been running for a few weeks as my tendon is still sore and I have been trying to rest it. My Jujitsu sensei also runs various fitness classes throughout the week and had free passes for todays class, so I figured it would be a good chance to get the heart pumping again! I want to sign up for the Birmingham Half Marathon at some point, having pulled out of the Great North Run, so I need to pick up my training again! We did our weekly food shop as soon as I got back, as we wanted to stock up as soon as we could, just in case the wife’s waters decided to break and we had to dash to the hospital and came home with a new baby to empty kitchen cupboards! After a spot of lunch, we decided to go for a long walk to see if we could encourage junior to make an appearance, and headed out to a local country park, and with the father in law starting to lay the kitchen floor tiles, we needed to stay out of the way for a bit anyway. The wife seemed a lot less uncomfortable walking today than she has done in the last few weeks, which I found quite encouraging, meaning we could walk much further than I’d expected. The weather was beautiful today, warm, sunshine, blue skies and a little bit of cloud. It really had an ‘end of summer’ feel about it, not quite autumn, but clear signs that we’re almost there. Acorns ready to drop on the oak trees, and berries everywhere. It was very tempting to pick some black berries to take home and bake with, but we had nothing to put them in. It was a lovely afternoon. The summer holiday is also almost over for me, i’ll be back to work in a week, but days like today, spending some quality time with the wife have been lovely!

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on August 26, 2013, in 365 project, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

