When we went down to the woods…


So with the weather picking up I couldn’t resist getting out with the camera at the weekend, and as it happened my sister had asked if I could shoot a few pictures of her with the boyfriend. I’d done a few indoors already with the classic high key, white background look and they came out nice, but you just can’t beat natural light for a classic touch to an image.

I decided on a nearby location, The Leasowes. A lovely wooded walk, although but time was against us as it would soon be sunset and we would lose all the daylight. I had decided that we would follow a route around the lake, which should give us enough time to do several stops along the way and get a few different shots in before the sun went down. For me, it was important to try the sun behind the subject resulting in a nice rim light along the hair, and giving almost a halo effect, without letting the sun shine straight into the lens and ruining the image.
This image demonstrates the rim light effect on the hair, a gorgeous effect when the sun is low and behind the subject.

I tried to shoot a variety of different poses whilst working against the clock and this simple one turned out to be one of my favourites.

I really can’t wait to get out and do it all again, so i’ll be hunting down a model very soon. With summer on the way, there will be many opportunities to get out in what I hope will be brilliant weather, but being British, you just never know! With my next wedding coming up soon, and their pre-wedding shoot coming up even sooner, I want to be using my camera like its a part of my own body! I have some fantastic kit in my bag now, and I have enough opportunities to use it, although arrangements for my own wedding in July still take priority, but with so little to do for that now, I can start to relax a little!

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on March 15, 2012, in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

