Image of the week


While I have been busily working on a variety of projects this year, including planning my own wedding, sometimes things have to give a little, and the blog has been the victim of neglect yet again.

Thankfully I have been able to photograph some fantastic weddings, with more fantastic weddings ahead! One of the most recent was that of my good friend Sharon and her new husband David, I was really happy with the photos, but some stand out more than others, and when they say a photo speaks a thousand words, it is certainly true when you can see every ounce of emotion in a bride while her father is making his speech.

This image was taken using the Canon L 70-200mm f2.8 IS lens on full zoom with the aperture wide open to create as much foreground and background blur as possible, and a colour image would not have done this justice, black and white was the only real option here. I think it creates a prefect record of how emotional her fathers speech was to her. For me, it represents how I like to capture as much as I can without getting directly involved in certain parts of the day. Perfect timing!

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on August 23, 2011, in Photography, Weddings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

