Something different for a Sunday


Well what a hectic few weeks it has been. A marathon run of weddings has kept me well and truly our of trouble for a while, and thankfully as things start to slow down for the winter season it gives me a bit of time to catch up with myself and make sure the waiting couples get the images from their big day as soon as possible. This week also saw the delivery of my first loxley album, the quality of this album is without doubt worth every penny of its higher cost. The couple were absolutely delighted with it, and to be honest, so was I! I can’t wait to produce more of these for upcoming weddings!

This afternoon will see me taking on a slightly different challenge, not something I like to back down from. A family member asked me to shoot a few images for his bands new website, and whilst not a typical portrait shoot, this will require some knowledge I already have and a little more creativity. I’m not going to pretend I am an expert in band photography, but I always like to face a challenge head on and see what I can do with it. Its nice to take on new challenges to keep myself fresh and be able to try different things. I am not guaranteeing that todays shoot will be the best I can achieve, but its a starting point.

Following on from the band photos, im then on the motorway up north for a meeting to discuss the next wedding on my calendar. Winter weddings are going to be another new challenge for me this year, with unpredictable weather and shorter daylight hours.

Lastly, with today being halloween that means that tomorrow is the first day of a new month, which is now known as Movember! No, that’s not a typing error, the Mo, slang for moustache, and November come together each year for Movember. The idea being to raise awareness of mens health issues and raise money for The Prostate Cancer Charity (TPCC), the UK’s leading prostate cancer charity.

So if you haven’t already, head over to http://uk.movember.com/donate/ and search for my name to make a donation. Go on, do it now!

About andrewvokes

Husband to my beautiful wife Clare, and father to two gorgeous girls. Cyclist, runner and photographer, living in Birmingham, UK.

Posted on October 31, 2010, in Photography, Weddings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please, share your thoughts...

